Voting

3 Nov

Before she discovered Pizza Hut

I didn’t vote. Suffice it to say, I didn’t have anything cool to post on Facebook to prove to everyone else how “aware” I am because I was exercising my civic duties. I didn’t vote because I’m an uninformed, lazy college kid, although in some respects I guess I am. I didn’t because I’m jaded (Really?).

I have been a citizen here for all 21 years of my life. I am a member of the military and I follow politics pretty closely. From what I can gather, regardless of who is in office, the same agendas will be followed. We have a two-party system that in reality deviates little from each other. “How can that be?” you might ask. Well at the end of the day it all comes down to money and power. The Democrats and the Republicans are all funded by the same corporations and special interest groups. Every elected member has to watch their own ass and make sure they don’t do anything “crazy” so they can be reelected. You can be as idealistic as you want to be, but as soon as you get to Washington, it seems all of that goes out the window. Maybe its some sort of conspiracy. Remember all of that awesome rhetoric our Dear Leader was espousing before he got elected in 2008? What happened after that? Did someone or something pull him aside and turn him into another big-spending, centrist, warmonger, or was he that way all along? Who the hell knows.

Personally, I don’t really identify with any particular political ideology. I just know that whatever we have in place now, is wrong. I don’t particularly like the left-wing brand of politics anymore. It is way too knee-jerk and politically correct. “Why can’t we all just get along?” It seems like all they can ever agree upon is coming up with new ways to expand the gubmint and exploit people’s predjudices. Yeah, I said it. I feel like the Left plays the race card in order to secure votes. What really has the welfare state got America’s poor? Not very much from where I look at it. I can see from my own experience the effects of welfare, food stamps, and affirmative action that the Left has used to “balance the playing field.” There are exceptions, but at the end of the day, the poor stay poor and vice versa.

This isn’t to say that I’m a Republican. Although I like the idea of having a small government and less taxes, the modern Republican party is more concerned with making sure that their corporate benefactors are appeased. For eight years, these loons ran the country and helped to contribute to the economic cesspool that we find ourselves in today (they aren’t the only ones to blame, but I’ll save that for another post.) The Repubs like to prey on the public’s prejudices and fears as well. Starting endless wars in the Middle East and passing Orwellian legislation to catch terrorists.

People in America get really fired up about politics. Most everyone has an allegiance to one side or the other. The way this happens is kind of funny if you think about it. What each political party does is play to the voters emotions. Ask most college kid what party they belong to and they will usually answer, Democrat. Fine, you might say, but why is this? Ask them what issues they care about. Most likely it will be gay marriage/abortion/world peace and probably the legalization of pot as well. The Democratic party knows this, and every election, they highlight their stance on these issues. On the other hand, go South and ask your typical middle-aged, white Protestant male what party he is voting for. More often than not, he will vote Republican. Why? He cares about the “sanctity of marriage”, repealing abortion legislation, and keeping out illegal Mexicans. Valid concerns, but will they be addressed? You see, people get fired up the most about social issues, and these are the things that politicians use in their favor. But in the end, even if these issues REALLY matter (which is debatable) chances are nothing will happen. My parents voted for Bush twice because he was Pro-Life. Did abortion stop? I voted for Obamanation in ’08 because he was against the war…….look how that’s going. It seems like the GOP is back in power for the time being and this time they promise “Change.” Sound familiar? The American public is way too forgetful. Politics is cyclical. I guarantee that in two to four years from now, people will be calling for blood once again and electing liberals.

I don’t really know what I’m trying to convey with this post. Modern politics is a load of bullshit, but it is fun to argue about. Everyone plays “armchair quarterback” and knows EXACTLY what is best for the country. In the end, I sometimes feel that the US is too big and diverse to ever really get anything significant accomplished. Maybe this is for the best. Who knows? If anyone can think of a better system, I’m all ears.

One Response to “Voting”

  1. Tone November 9, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

    yup. that’s all i can say.

Leave a Reply

